| Pulls metadata for each citation with entering one identifier (e.g., DOI, ISBN) | Free | Clean and no ads on website | Ease of use | No download required | Exports multiple formats | Generates bibliographies/copied citations/in-text citations in multiple citation styles | Helps check credibility of citations | ||
| AI Tools | MyBib | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y |
| Scribbr | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | N | |
| Zoterobib | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | N | |
| Other Tools | Google Scholar | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | N | N |
| Library PowerSearch | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | N | N |
Y=Yes; N=No; UTA=Unable to assess
(Source: Brigham, T. J. (2020). Zoterobib. Journal of the Medical Library Association, 108(4). https://doi.org/10.5195/jmla.2020.1084)
MyBib
MyBib
is a free bibliography and citation generator. It allows you to generate formatted bibliographies, citations, and works cited from various sources.
MyBib Chrome Extension, automatically create APA style, MLA format, and Harvard referencing style citations with our citation generator add-on for Chrome. Simply browse to any page on the internet (including PDFs) and click the MyBib button to generate an automatically formatted citation for that page. You can export them into other citation managers like Zotero or Mendeley, print them directly, or save them as BibTeX.
Scribbr Citation
Scribbr Citation Chrome Extension: Scribbr’s free citation generator for Chrome lets you instantly generate accurate APA, MLA, Chicago, and Harvard style citations for any online source.
Zoterobib
Zoterobib
If you just need to create a one-off bibliography for a paper, ZoteroBib is the quickest and easiest way to do it. If you’re working on a longer-term project, want to build up a research library to use across multiple projects, or need to collaborate with others, Zotero offers many more features.
Most of the databases Library has subscripted have citation help integrated into each record. The location of the link/button varies by database, some databases even have their own unique citation formats. Take a look of the database that you frequently use.
ACM Digital Library
IEEE
JSTOR
PowerSearch (the main discovery tool of HKUST(GZ) Library) has a built-in citation tool. It offers machine-created citations in APA, Chicago, Harvard, IEEE, and MLA styles.
Please note: The citation is created by machine, so remember to check for accuracy before including them in your work.
Steps:
1. Do a search and you are now at the result page, click the citation icon (look like a double quotation mark)
2. Select your desired style and click "Copy the Citation to Clipboard".
If you use Google Scholar, you can get citations for articles in the search result list. Copy and paste a formatted citation (MLA, APA, Chicago, Harvard, or Vancouver) or use one of the links to import into your bibliography management tool.
